New-vember 2012

Ha!  Ok, so, I think I (Beth) said I was going to post something about this a while back and never did, but just wanted to be honest for a minute…I love/hate living in S. Asia sometimes.  Whew.  There I said it.  There are wonderful things about S. Asia that I love (that post might be coming later) and there are some things that I just can’t stand.  I will spare you a list, but please just trust me.  Personally, I have gone through a rough transition period with moving from our home in KY, being shuffled around, and then, moving across the world.  I told my mom that it’s almost been like I have had a year and a half identity crisis.  But in the same breath, I have also grown in my walk with Christ so much more now than I ever would have living in the States.  Now, I LOVE my home country, no doubt about that, so, please don’t hear me say I didn’t or couldn’t grow spiritually there, but there are things that I have dealt with over here that I never would have dreamed about dealing with in America.

I need an example, you might be thinking…

Here’s one…Upon coming to S. Asia, I knew that we would get stared at…in our city, there are some foreigners, but not many.  We also have 2 little cute girls…the intensity and longevity of the staring caught me by surprise.  I thought that if I acknowledged the staring, it would cease.  WRONG.  In America, I didn’t like being the center of attention (although my laugh would dissuade you from thinking so), so, here we are in the limelight everywhere we go…so, the conundrum of “I don’t like the attention, but there’s nothing I can do about it” steps in.  I have less control here…which sounds pretty whiney, but it sure has grown my dependence on the Lord and worked a number on my self control.  Who wouldn’t want that, right?

There have been some other things that have come up, but I won’t bore you with those.  I just wanted everyone to know that I am doing fine, but it’s hard here.  I also what you to know how much I appreciate your prayers for our family.  Without them, I would not be where I am right now.  I’m sure there will be more bumps along the way, but at least now, I am at a point where I am trying not compare myself to anybody else or wallowing away at how I can’t learn a language faster…I am learning how to incorporate my language learning with ministry as well as balance in our daily lives w/ 2 girls under 4.  It’s not easy, but it can be done!    So, the title to this post means that this November has been nice in that it has been a new start for me in my confidence and place in South Asia…

2 thoughts on “New-vember 2012

  1. Well dear Bethie, honesty is the best policy and just by talking about “the
    struggle” is an inspiration to me. Glossing over the trials would only seem trite and I only think I know how you have struggled…….what with the mold alone! (My little girl who couldn’t stand the hair on the bathroom floor, ha.)
    America is the greatest place on earth (even with our faults and there are many) but only by leaving and putting yourself “out there” have you become aware of the blessing you were given to be born here. Reaching out to the rest of the world is an admirable venture and we are all very proud of you and Will and the girls. That being said, we miss you and please remember, there is always a place for you here and plenty of good work that needs to be done.

  2. Pingback: Life in the FLL: Things we love about ‘ol S. Asia… « Ramblings & Thoughts

Leave a Reply

