Life in the FLL: Why we do what we do (Part 2)

In April, I wrote Part 1 of this blog series where I focused on the call from the Bible to take the message to all nations.  In Part 2, I want to share with you the Brutal Facts of our area to further explain why we do what we do.  One of our leaders shared this little story with us which I think will help you in understanding the immense population and lostness around us…

Let’s say I was a super evangelist, and I was able to lead 5 people a week to Christ.  Let’s say that I did this every week of every year for 40 years.  During these 40 years, I would have seen 10,400 people give their life to Christ!  This would be awesome!  40 years and 10,400 new believers!  Job well done!

Yet in the state in which we focus, 10,400 people are added to the population every 2.5 days!! Yes, I said days.  Everything that I would have accomplished would be awesome; yet, all that I would have accomplished in 40 years would be equalized by the birth rate in 2.5 days.

Here’s another way to think about the monumental task before us….every 3 minutes, 5 people die in our focus state.  So every hour, 100 people die, and every 10 hours, 1000 people die.  This is a lot of numbers but here is the truth.  If 1000 people are dying every 10 hours, only 1 out of 1000 knows Jesus as his Savior.  Yep, only 1!

While these facts and statistics can seem both surreal and also saddening, know that God is working among all of this!  May these Brutal Facts both help you to understand more of why we are here and how you can continue to pray for the work.

2 thoughts on “Life in the FLL: Why we do what we do (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Much Ado about Missions: Introduction | Being Confident of This

  2. Bob Midwood sent me a link to this. I grew up as an MK – my parents served in Papua New Guinea with New Tribes Mission. I started blogging a few months ago and with the help of two other bloggers, we’re doing a series on Missions! :) I’ve included a link to this post at the bottom of my introductory post on why global missions are so important, so you’ll probably see a pingback from that. I thought you did an excellent job of illuminating the numbers and making them personal. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

