Celebrating 10 years with Beth J!

photoIt was 10 years ago today that I first met the Beth J (then it was Beth Parker or later became Smyrna B).  Either way, I had traveled down to Florence, SC to speak at the BCM there about missions in South Asia.  One of their students (Christina…see picture to the right) was on my summer team that year and wanted me to come speak.  So we checked calenders and made plans for the Tuesday before Thanksgiving.  I had been traveling a lot that month and was really just ready to go home and hang out for Thanksgiving.

When I arrived, Christina took me around to meet any and everyone.  It was just slightly annoying since I really just wanted to speak and head home, but that was my selfishness.  So at lunch, she says that she wants to take me to meet her friend who just happens to be from right near my hometown in Murfreesboro.  To tell you the truth, I really wasn’t interested.  The other girl driving us wasn’t the best of drivers (sorry to offend) and didn’t like to turn left.  So she would just make multiple right turns…anyway I digress.  So we head down to the Bank of America to meet this friend.  As I walk in the bank, I turned to my right and saw my future wife.  The most beautiful smile I had ever seen; just amazing.  She said hello…and here is where our stories differ.  I say that I absolutely said hello back.  Beth says that I just stood there and said nothing.  Either way, I was thankful I made the trip!  As we were leaving the bank, a voice in my head said, “That’s the girl you’re going to marry.”

Now, I kid you not that this is indeed what happened.  I too was a bit caught off guard as I didn’t even really know much about her.  That night at BCM, I made it a point to sit near Beth and just get to know her a little.  I knew that it was a crazy long shot as she lived there and I was traveling.  After BCM, I went out to dinner with Beth and Christina and Anna (all 3 best friends).  As we entered the booth, Anna and Christina sat one one side and Beth and I were both sitting on the same side of the booth, yet you could have put a semi between us as she sat so far away, it was amazing!  We all continued to hang out throughout the night and had a blast.  I was now definitely interested in this Beth Parker.

The next morning, I called Christian to ask more about this Beth Parker, but I was told to stay away for awhile.  Anyway, the story will continue on another milestone date in the future as I celebrate 10 years with Beth J, leading up to our 10 year anniversary in 2015.

Leave a Reply

