10 Years with Beth J: First “date week”

Note: our computer crashed a week before Christmas, so there was no opportunity to write this post on the actual date.  This post has been post-dated to the week it would have been published.

So to continue from the last post, I talked with Beth’s friends a couple of times to see how things were going.  One of my first conversations with Beth on the phone involved the way that the moviephone guy would say “mur-FREES-boro.”  Yeah, riveting discussions.  Anyway, so on one conversation, they told me that they were coming to Smyrna for New Year’s Eve to spend time with Beth’s parents and also to live it up in Nashvegas.  So Beth, Anna, and Taiter (and another friend) made the drive from Florence to Smyrna.

Meanwhile, I really wanted to hang out, but I didn’t really want to go alone.  So we all planned to spend New Year’s Eve in downtown Nashville at Graham Central Station (classy, I know).  However, all of my peeps bailed at the last minute so I joined the crew and we all headed up to Nashville and had a blast.  I didn’t realize at the time that the 1 guy that came with them was possibly interested in Beth….TOO SLOW MY FRIEND!  HA!  Anyway we celebrated the New Year by dancing and having a good time.

Over the course of the next 3 days, I met Beth and the group twice more.  Once was a dinner at Camino with the Hardimans and I think Mr. Green.  Another night was another hanging out at some country/pop dance club near Nashville with Mr. Pilote.  I was content to keep on dancing and talking with Beth, but the rest of the group had had enough of the country people dancing to pop music.  Think lots of starch, hairspray, and boots dancing to ‘NSYNC.

To cap things off with a “not how to court a girl” moment.  I gave Beth my number and told her to call me when she gets back home.  I believe her reply was, “I don’t call boys.”

But she did anyway!

Leave a Reply

